Focus NDT

About Us header


Building on our decades of experience in the NDT industry, Focus NDT employs the latest technologies to service our clients. We’re committed to safe working practices and believe in nurturing and mentoring our staff of technicians.

What is Non-Destructive Testing?

Non-destructive testing (NDT) and Non-destructive Examination (NDE) consists of analysis techniques used to evaluate the properties of a material, component or system. As NDT doesn’t permanently alter the components of the equipment being inspected, it is a highly valuable technique that can save both money and time in product evaluation, troubleshooting and research. NDT originated in the military to assess aerospace quality control where the failure of a component could cause significant hazard and economic loss. Due to its ability to test steels and metal alloys, NDT was adopted in other transport sectors including the manufacturing of ships, submarines and vehicles (cars/trucks, tanks).

NDT extended to artillery gun barrels, ammunition shell casings and any manufactured component that required Quality Control Assessment. Military Specifications and Standards Guidelines were developed so that private sector industry could meet legal requirements and bid on defence contracts.

NDT methods have become the materials evaluation choice in many sectors.

Infrastructure Construction

Pipe & Tube

Storage Tanks

NDT methods employ analysis technologies as X-ray and ultrasound. The industry continually benefits from developments in the medical field, particularly in imaging.

X-Ray Radiography and Ultrasound in Medicine

Real-Time Radiography and Phased Array in NDT

Today, NDT technicians are front-line diagnostic professionals providing material “health” measurement and monitoring to all industries. NDT’s versatile techniques perform material quality assessments on new constructions and for maintenance on existing structures. The insurance industry is a driving force requiring NDT testing in its risk assessment and liability programs.

The most common standardized and certified NDT methods are:

  • MT – Magnetic Particle Testing
  • PT – Penetrant Testing
  • RT – Radiographic Testing
  • UT – Ultrasonic Testing
  • ET – Eddy Current Testing
  • VT – Visual Testing

In Canada, the NDT certifying agency is Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) which administers the certification process as outlined by the Canadian General Standards Board (CGSB). The CGSB has extended the program globally by associating with the International Standards Organization (ISO). Since 1996, certification for NDT methods have met ISO standards and are recognized globally.

Latest News & Updates

Our Clients

Our diverse global experience and technical expertise has given us the opportunity to work for large and small clients performing specialized inspections.